Friday, November 18, 2011

Pornography in Facebook

I’ve been meaning to write something about this but uh, I was too busy with what’s happening in my country that I totally forgot about this issue. Okay so these past few weeks, Facebook has been under attack of some malicious pornographic images and videos. At first, I didn’t really thought that it was a spam but I kind of figured it out since there’s really a lot of instances when some of my friends posted a certain link to their other friends’ wall. Then there’s also this status update that says something about how people should be wary as hackers are posting something pornographic links to your friends without you knowing it, yadah, yadah, yadah.

Then yesterday, someone in my friends posted something about secured browsing and all that—which really is a must even before this hacking thing surfaced. So like everything else that needs clarification, I googled. And what I found out was that the hackers are targeting the vulnerability of a browser. Something about users being tricked “into pasting and executing malicious javascript in their browser URL causing them to unknowingly share the offensive content,” Andrew Noyes from Facebook said. He also said that they’re doing something about it and in the meantime, we, as the users, must reinforce our accounts even further. Here’s what you can do to protect you’re accounts:

  • Secure you’re browsing. Go to you’re Account Settings > Security > Secure Browing and check the box that says: “Browse Facebook on a secure connection (https) when possible” and then click Save Changes. 
  •  Edit the applications that are dormant—of those that you’re not using anymore. Go to Account Settings > Apps and click edit or just simply remove it.
  • You must have a strong password—this is very necessary. The ideal password would be like this: ILovemylife92$ as it contains 2 ALL CAPS letters, numbers and a special character. Once your account started sending links to your friends, change your password right away.
  •  And the best thing that you can do to secure your account and avoid this spamming thing is to MAKE SURE THAT YOU DON’T CLICK IT. Better report it and never be curious what Miley Cyrus did that made some person lost all his respect for her.
 
Remember, the risk of being hacked is highly possible once you subscribe yourself into this kind of social networking sites. Be a responsible user. 

No comments:

Post a Comment

You might also like:

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...